Peek-a-boo!

mirror-reflection-hd-wallpaper-picture-d01-1024x576 (1)

Boo!

Mirror! Mirror! On the wall! Who’s the greatest of them all!?

This post is in relation to an incident that had happened a couple of weeks past. I was asked to present a brief speech on an object I would best like to immaterialize into and, to tell the whole world about what I would like to shout out if I (this object that I’m now impersonating) was given the gift of speech. Given the little time I had to brood over the topic at hand, the only object that materialized in my mind was that of a mirror. And, I feel I had a pretty good argument as to why I chose this above all others. And, this is me speaking to you, the reader, in the shoes of a mirror.

Your reflection is by far, perhaps, the most beautiful and the best impersonation of you as the individual that you truly are. I don’t merely reflect to you, your form, but your entire train of thoughts in it’s truest self. Mind you though, I’ve only seen this behind closed doors. I’ve seen you swear, I’ve seen you weep, I’ve seen you on your knees, I’ve seen you slump, I’ve seen you smile, I’ve seen the worst of you and the best in you, I’ve seen you play an air guitar, I’ve seen you be the rockstar and, I’ve seen the Princess in you. But, what captured my imagination the most was that little twinkle in your eyes. That little spark deep within you. The real you, unadulterated. I’m sure you too have seen that in you, through my eyes; but, alas! The moment you notice that sliver in your bedroom door, I’ve seen it all wash away. I see you impersonating someone else in place of the individual that you truly are. You tend to forget that, what truly excites you. You tend to forget me. You cease to exist! This is perhaps betrayal in it’s worst kind.

If I had the chance to strangle you and to not knock you out of your senses, I would have. In all honesty, I would. For, you see my friend, in reality, you’re not betraying me, but in truth, it is you who stands betrayed in the longer run. I encourage you to fly, I encourage you to step up and play your air guitar, I’m urging you to step in and walk the walk of that Princess in you, for, I have never seen anyone else like the true you when, you look into my eyes. You tend to believe that this part of you where you tend to pretend is euphemistic, but sadly, it isn’t. Pretending to be whom you’re not is simply synonymous with you being put up as a mannequin.

The only justice that you could do to me is to make a commitment. Not to you, but to me. To not let what defines you to be set on fire but rather to set yourselves into one to define what you are. Do not be afraid of that little sliver in the door for, it isn’t a demon nor a dragon and if it indeed be one, it can be slayed. Stand tall my friend. Fret not.

So, who stands as the greatest of them all!?

– You do!

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

